Going, Going Potty

My 3 year old is a smart kid. She’s quick, picks up on things easily and loves to learn.

Also, she isn’t potty trained.

She’s the youngest of 4 siblings. I remember way back to when my oldest was a toddler. I read all the parenting magazines and books. At 18 months you should begin potty training. Just chuck them in some little undies and in a weekend your diaper days will be over.

Oddly it didn’t work quite that way. She had no idea what was going on. We were all frustrated and my couch smelled faintly of urine.

I had another kid who potty trained at the arrival of a new sibling. He didn’t want to be like the baby.

One I was fairly certain would be going to kindergarten in pull-ups. Guess what, nope, he made his mind up it was time.

Kids do things at their own pace. Not much different than adults. We teach them. Reassure them. Love them. Sooner or later they decide that it’s not cool to pee your pants.

This kid has been different. We’ve gone at her pace. Some days she’s the potty master. Other days she makes no effort. The amazing thing? Those effort lacking days are really disappearing. She wants to make the effort. None of us have been frustrated or stressed. She wants to use the potty we go, she doesn’t I change her.

So yes. I have a 3 year old in pull ups. I’m not worried. Has anyone ever held your age at potty training against your qualifications as an adult? I think not.

Leave a comment