No One Wants Facts

No one wants to read facts. Do you remember information you read in a text book 15-20 years ago?

No.

It’s boring. There’s little retention because you don’t have a connection with it.

The same is true for “agvocating”, running farm pages or sharing your story.

I can tell you posts that have the most interaction on my page share stories. Every day things. Rea life successes and failures. They relate me to you. Even if you’re 3 generations removed from agriculture we establish a connection over parenthood, coffee, quirks our spouse has or feeling like life is getting ahead of us.

People have less interest in regurgitated facts and more interest in human interest stories. Yea, I have cows but I also have a toddler I wonder if she’s human some days. I’ve assisted a ewe giving birth but sadly I spilled my coffee climbing the gate to help her.

When I first started this page and blog all I did was tell these amazing statistics. Holy snore. I was talking to a wall.

Over the years I have changed my narrative. I want you to know farmers are regular people who run on a lot of coffee, big dreams and little sleep. I’m sure a lot of people can relate to that.

Leave a comment