I’m at an awkward spot in sharing my story. Maybe it’s growing pains or growing frustrations. I’m not sure which.

I love sharing my story with people. Often times I find it relaxing to sit and write about my day. The highs, lows, frustrations, success. Generally someone can relate. From cows to kids to all the life in between.

One goal I’ve always had is to be open in my sharing. Farming is hard. We make hard decisions. Our little farm provides for our family. At the end of the day my big goal is for the farm to be ethical and economical.

I read a lot. Dairy publications, “mom” blogs, marketing, you name it. Very rarely for pleasure anymore. After lots of thinking I feel like I need to get this off my chest.

The consumer is not always right.

Now I’m open to conversations. I think we need to evolve to stay relevant. Farming is always changing. If you don’t adapt you get left behind.

But I also believe the majority of consumers trust us. Milk and dairy is a staple in the overwhelming majority of American diets.

Many consumers are several generations removed from farming and have never even touched a cow, let alone taken care of one. So when people ask me questions (or question) our practices, I generally gladly answer/interact. Most people just want to know the how’s and the whys.

I’m forever grateful for the large consumer base that trusts farmers. They acknowledge that we are intelligent people giving all we have to produce quality food for them.

There are always going to be squeaky wheels. People who make you question humanity. Sadly at times we think this group is the base of the majority.

I trust my consumers having confidence in me, just as they trust me to make quality dairy products for them.

So take this away: if you have questions ask! We generally have good explanations on the care we provide our cattle.

Leave a comment