It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like Christmas

I would like to start this blog post by saying, yes I am aware I live in Ohio. I know we have crazy weather sometimes. That doesn’t mean I have to like it. Monday morning it snowed. Lots of heavy, wet snow that clung to everything. It looked like a beautiful scene from a Christmas card. My problem with this? The turkey hasn’t even begun to thaw out for Thanksgiving yet. Seriously, Mother Nature, let me eat my turkey before you make me look at that white junk.

This didn’t stop me from taking pictures of it. I mean, I hate to admit it, but it did look pretty. This is the first thing I saw after getting out of my car at the farm. I saw lots of snow all over the road getting there. Very glad we only live a half of a mile away. Could have been a long ride!

snowDark

A snowy maple tree in the dark.

Once the sun came up I could snap a few more pictures of our winter misery beauty.

Looking out the side door of the parlor.

Looking out the side door of the parlor.

Snapshot of the farm pond.

Snapshot of the farm pond.

If you look really close, those 2 black dots are some chilly ducks.

If you look really close, those 2 black dots are some chilly ducks.

Of course, with it being the first snow and my children’s horrible adaptation to the time change, the tribe emerged bright and early to play!

A little 6am romp in the snow!

A little 6am romp in the snow!

Snow also brings on snow ball fights. Who better to come after than your parents?

Taylor trying some sneaky snow ball fight skills on his dad....

Taylor trying some sneaky snow ball fight skills on his dad….

When you get caught, you need to be prepared for pay back…

I wish I could have recorded all the laughter in this shot. Now there would be some undercover farm video for you!

I wish I could have recorded all the laughter in this shot. Now there would be some undercover farm video for you!

When we were done and came home the plight with the white stuff continued…

Some snowy oak trees by our pond.

Some snowy oak trees by our pond.

The snow was also a first experience for some this year. Our trusty little wanna-be cow dog had never played in snow before. She quickly took to chasing and attempting to retrieve snow balls!

Bella's first snow!

Bella’s first snow!

Little Henry took a more reserved approach and enjoyed his first snow from inside our warm house!

Admiring the snow thru the big windows.

Admiring the snow thru the big windows.

This day was nothing compared to the next two where it struggled to get over 20. Good news is a few more days and it’s supposed to warm up and rain. Then we can enjoy our mud…

 

4 thoughts on “It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like Christmas

Leave a Reply

