Of Kids, Cows and….Pigs?

This has been an exciting week around here, if you like pigs that is! The past few years we have been raising small groups of pigs to have pork for ourselves, as well as some family and neighbors. I, for one, am not a huge porcine fan. They’re loud, they smell and their odd noises kind of freak me out in all honesty. I go along with the small scale pig farming because 1) Pigs taste good 2) the kids love playing with them 3) did I mention I like bacon?

I like the way we raise our pigs. I have nothing against large hog farms or commercially raised pork products. But there’s some satisfaction in knowing you raised what’s on your plate. There are days I worry how close to homesteading I am becoming…

With no further ado, here they are…

They're all cute and tiny right now. Pigs like to snuggle in together in pig piles in bedding to stay extra toasty!

They’re all cute and tiny right now. Pigs like to snuggle in together in pig piles in bedding to stay extra toasty!

This cute little group of seven bacon seeds will eat free choice feed for the next 3 months or so before they are butchered and tucked away in our freezer.

Chow time!

Chow time!

While they eat and grow, they’ll have lots of harassment, err play time with the tribe. Taylor absolutely loves pigs. He may leave us and our cows for the porkers someday and it wouldn’t surprise me. Emma likes them, but she like her mother, prefers them under 100 pounds while they’re still cute. They chase, pet, hand feed and love on this group and every group in the past.

The first attempt at hand feeding this group.

The first attempt at hand feeding this group.

Caught one by the tail! He catches the same piglet this way every time. The little guy stops moving as soon as you grab his tail. If he was a smart piggy he would keep running from this crazy kid!

Caught one by the tail! He catches the same piglet this way every time. The little guy stops moving as soon as you grab his tail. If he was a smart piggy he would keep running from this crazy kid!

Some prefer to investigate the squealers from a distance.

Some prefer to investigate the squealers from a distance.

The pigs give the kids a very real sense of where their food comes from. They know what the end product for the “rascals”, as Taylor calls them, will be. And they are OK with it. I’m not saying they aren’t sad when they leave, but as soon as they leave the tribe will be plotting to get new ones.

I’m sure there will be PLENTY more pig posts to come! In the meantime enjoy a few more cute piggy pictures.

Sitting and taking in the surroundings.

Sitting and taking in the surroundings.

Catching some zzz's after playing with the tribe.

Catching some zzz’s after playing with the tribe.

 

8 thoughts on “Of Kids, Cows and….Pigs?

      • Well, true. I was an animal science major for a bit. Until I had to cut the tails off of some piglets. Couldn’t do it. Somehow torturing people came easier for me. Go figure!

      • I always tell my husband if something ever happened to the farm I would love to enter nursing! I think it’s the whole taking care of something/someone aspect. These little squealer have all their tails, easier to grab when they run 😉

    • This group has 2 gilts (little girl pigs for those who don’t know) and the kids have this great breeding idea. It’s like no way. I think they’re cute now but this phase doesn’t last long in my opinion.

Leave a Reply

