Sand & Silage

Yesterday I was hoping to have a smooth afternoon. Why is it the days you always hope things go the smoothest are the days you have the most problems.

Our feeder is very temperamental and feeding the milk cows is often a real chore. Both literally and figuratively. A job that normally takes one person a half hour took 2 of us over an hour last night. Our motor that runs the whole operation went down in a blaze of glory leaving us to manually switch the conveyor from side to side.

What am I to do while I sit there just waiting to flip a switch? Take all kinds of pictures of course! I started with the beautiful bovines.

Everyone at the bunk beginning to eat their supper.

Everyone at the bunk beginning to eat their supper.

#122 is really digging in. This picture really seemed to just focus on her. She needed her 2 seconds of fame!

#122 is really digging in. This picture really seemed to just focus on her. She needed her 2 seconds of fame!

Then I slowly progressed to the boys. Em was helping a girl who works for us feed baby calves. The boys were chilling with us. They were pretty good entertainment if nothing else!

I think Taylor was starting to become concerned that Frolic may have mistaken him for a piece of silage!

I think Taylor was starting to become concerned that Frolic may have mistaken him for a piece of silage!

So after getting covered in silage from playing in the bunk they moved to the sandy free stalls.

I think Henry was pretending to be a cow in this shot! He had gotten so dirty by this time there really was no more point in clothes.

I think Henry was pretending to be a cow in this shot! He had gotten so dirty by this time there really was no more point in clothes.

Taylor and Henry in what I think was my favorite shot of the night. Just sitting in a stall watching Fire eat feed that had dropped off the conveyor.

Taylor and Henry in what I think was my favorite shot of the night. Just sitting in a stall watching Fire eat feed that had dropped off the conveyor.

They had a blast! While they were disgusting and covered from head to toe in corn silage and sand they were giggling the whole time. I’m pretty sure when it was all done and over with there was enough sand in Henry’s diaper to build a sand castle. Baths all around!

Leave a Reply

