Day Lilies to Brighten Your Day

One of my favorite flowers to see blooming in my beds anymore are my day lilies. I realize that compared to some gardeners, my collection is quite small, however I can’t wait until they begin to bloom every summer!

When I notice the first few buds begin to appear the anticipation builds. This feeling has rubbed off on Emma these days and she watched and waited right along with me this year.

When I notice the first few buds begin to appear the anticipation builds. This feeling has rubbed off on Emma these days and she watched and waited right along with me this year.

 

 

The first few blooms peeking out!

The first few blooms peeking out!

Blooming in full force!

Blooming in full force!

I have a few other colors in this bed also. I’m not sure why the last picture looks so much lighter, it’s the same plant trust me.

Light pink w/ dark center

Light pink w/ dark center

A very sassy pink one

A very sassy pink one

When you put them all together and sprinkle in a few hostas, an ornamental strawberry or two and some plant I’m not quite sure the name of (shh…I’m no master gardener) it results in one of my favorite areas in my flower beds!

It took 3 years, but my perennials are finally filling out nicely!

It took 3 years, but my perennials are finally filling out nicely!

I have day lilies sporadically placed in my other beds as well. Here’s a few shots of other colors I have.

An interesting salmon color

An interesting salmon color

My favorite, a double petal orange. The petals are even wavy. I have 3 of these plants.

My favorite, a double petal orange. The petals are even wavy. I have 3 of these plants.

I also have a yellow one that bloomed this year but is apparently camera shy. Every time I remember to snap a picture of it, the petals have dropped.  I have several other starts I planted last spring or early this summer that haven’t bloomed. Not sure if they’re going to be late bloomers or if I’m going to have to wait until next year to see them. Such color and beauty they can add to a bed! All of mine have come from others thinning out their beds, either giving me starts or I have snagged them very cheap. It’s great when fellow gardeners help out one another!

**Update to post: when I walked outside to feed our lovely yard ladies (aka the hens) some scraps, I caught my yellow one in the act of having a bloom!

My yellow one caught in the act of flowering!

My yellow one caught in the act of flowering!

Below is the link to the kids fundraiser. If you are new to my blog, this is the first post to not be about my kids in a few weeks. 2 of our 3 children contracted viral meningitis, spending lots of time at Akron Children’s hospital. You can read their stories in the archives.

https://www.youcaring.com/medical-fundraiser/mcdonnell-family-medical-expense-fund/209427

5 thoughts on “Day Lilies to Brighten Your Day

    • There is a neighboring dairy farmer that’s wife is on a national day Lilly board. She has more colors than you could imagine! She holds a perennial sale every Memorial Day weekend and my mom and make sure to go every year.

      • When it comes to gardening I sometimes have problems with even simple! That’s why I love seeing what others have done, I’ll take pictures to the garden place and say, “Here, give me this one!”

Leave a Reply

