HOME!

I’ve always been taught that you don’t write with your caps locked on a computer because it symbolizes you’re yelling. I am in the title of this post, WE ARE HOME! If that’s not a good enough reason to shout for joy, frankly then I don’t know what is.

For the last almost 3 weeks our life has been complete and utter hell. At first Henry became mysteriously and incredibly ill. You can read about his illness in this post:

https://ofkidsandcows.wordpress.com/2014/07/14/frustrated/

Almost a week later was when Emma had her seizure on the way to the bank. Little did I know the Pandora’s box that this seizure would open. It was literally unreal. Here is where Emma’s story started:

https://ofkidsandcows.wordpress.com/2014/07/19/the-last-36-hours/

I have a feeling the upcoming road for this normally happy, bubbly girl is going to be a long one. While she is recovering fairly quickly, she’s having problems being able to complete tasks she could before with ease. This is making her very frustrated. Which brings on the mood swings, oh the mood swings….

After being home from the hospital for an hour, literally, Taylor had a seizure. The feelings and thoughts I was experiencing are truly indescribable. Tom and I had just lived this nightmare once and it quickly became very apparent we were going to live it again.

https://ofkidsandcows.wordpress.com/2014/07/24/what-are-the-odds/

Taylor has faired much better than Emma in the big picture. He did not suffer from any brain damage and he was out of the hospital 3 days quicker. Once he came out of his haze from the seizures he may have been drowsy, but he was fairly alert and would interact if you weren’t a nurse. By yesterday he was hiding (and laughing) when his nurse would come in.

I was going to blog last night but honestly I was simply so happy to be home with the tribe all intact and semi-healthy for the first time in what has felt like an eternity. The boys crashed early, while Tom and I watched Emma’s favorite TV show with her, Mountain Man, on the History channel. Rich is her A #1 hero.

Sleeping in my own bed for the first time in 12 days was heavenly. I slept like a rock. The night I came home when Taylor was in the hospital we camped out down stairs. Henry woke up giggling (seriously) at 6 this morning. I think he’s ready to make up for not seeing me much lately.

Tom and I cannot begin to thank you all enough for your support and prayers. Believe me, we felt them. To see 2 of your children life flighted is enough to crush any spirit you may have. Our house has been, and sounds like it will continue to be for awhile, flooded with food from the amazing cooks we go to church with. Our little country church may be small but what we lack in size we make up for in quality of characters. I have never seen such amazing people! My mom and aunt have cleaned our house, my dad has kept our yard mowed. I hear our newly “free range” hens may have even helped fix the lawn mower at one point in time….

A fund has been set up by a fellow blogger, of whom I’ve never even met, to help defray medical expenses. It has been shared across Facebook and Twitter by many more people I have never met trying to help make our lives a little easier. Thank you all.

So tomorrow I’m really thinking about blogging about my day lilies. They have looked amazing this year and I have captured some good pictures of them. We all need to see lots of positive on this page once again. I may even post about cows again some time soon!

Here is a link to the medical fund that has been established.

https://www.youcaring.com/medical-fundraiser/mcdonnell-family-medical-expense-fund/209427

5 thoughts on “HOME!

  1. So glad for answered prayers and that your tribe is all home together. Things will fall in to place for Emma , just going to take time. Love you Jodi !

  2. Great news Jodi!!! I hope you all get some much needed rest and each day is better than the next!! I too am a HUGE Mountain Man fan but Eustace and Tom are probably my favorites lol. Still praying for you!!

Leave a Reply

