Zucchini Pie

A lot of gardens are starting to become productive. Ours sadly still has about another month before we’re going to be picking anything from it. I didn’t get in between this springs monsoons to well and it went in the ground fairly late for us. But hey, it’s in!

Zucchini is one of my favorite veggies because it is so multi purpose. Savory pies, casseroles, sweet cakes and brownies. Take your pick! We’re going savory today. I brought this recipe home with me from doing my internship when I was in college. I spent 10 weeks living with another great farm family and learning how they manage their cows. We ate this quite a few times and the recipe made the trek back home!

Italian Zucchini Pie

  • 1 8oz can of crescent rolls
  • 2 Teaspoons of yellow mustard

Press the crescent rolls in to a 10 inch pie plate. Make sure it goes up the sides to resemble a pie crust. Bake in a pre-heated 350 degree oven for 8-10 minutes until lightly brown. Spread the mustard over the bottom of the crust.

  • 4 cups of thinly sliced zucchini (I’ve used yellow summer squash as well)
  • 1 cup of thinly sliced onions
  • 1/4 cup of butter
  • 2 Tablespoons of dried parsley
  • 1/2 teaspoon of salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon of pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon of basil
  • 1/4 teaspoon of oregano

I have used a few tablespoons of Italian seasoning before if I didn’t have all of the above spices. It’s delicious either way! Melt the butter in a large skillet. Add the zucchini and onion. Saute until softened. Add all of the spices in stir.

My sliced zucchini and onions getting ready to sautΓ©.

My sliced zucchini and onions getting ready to sautΓ©.

Pour in to a large bowl and add:

  • 2 beaten eggs
  • 1 8oz package of shredded mozzarella cheese

Stir until combined then pour in to the browned pie crust. Bake in a pre heated 375 degree oven for 18-20 minutes or until the center is set. You may need to watch and cover the crust the last 5-10 minutes. Let stand about 10 minutes before slicing so it will stay firm.

All sliced up and ready to eat!

All sliced up and ready to eat!

This recipe is a great way to use some of your yummy summer garden harvest! Hope you give it a try.

5 thoughts on “Zucchini Pie

    • Thank you, anything with zucchini is great to me. Sadly out of the 5 of us I’m the only one who likes it. If I put it in cake or brownies I can normally sneak it in to them.

Leave a Reply

