Fathers Day on the Farm

I know I said I was going to keep my blog strictly dairy this month and I am. You see if it wasn’t for each of these 3 men in my life I would not be where I am today. Each one has shaped me more than they will probably ever realize. My father, grandfather and husband (ok he may not be MY dad, but he is an amazing dad to our kids) are all involved in the dairy industry and have all been a huge part in my involvement in the dairy industry.

My Dad:

Walking down the aisle at my wedding.

Walking down the aisle at my wedding.

My dad has always been on the farm. I’ve always been on the farm since I was little and I wouldn’t have traded it for the world. There are just something to be said about some quality father/daughter time spent in a combine. I’ve heard I didn’t last long in the combine before I fell asleep, curled up on my My Little Ponies sleeping bag. We’ve spent quite a few hours together milking cows, riding in tractors and searching for a groundhog or two with a .22 Β in a freshly mowed hay field. I also went thru a spell where I made him drag me to about every UKC beagle field trial he even thought about going to. He really lucked out when I moved out, a whole half mile down the road and stayed at the farm so he can see me everyΒ day.

My Grandfather:

A picture from Grandpas birthday party last year.

A picture from Grandpas birthday party last year.

If it weren’t for my grandfather I would have never had the opportunity to be involved in the dairy industry. The farm was originally his. The 4-H projects I drug around the yard were all his heifers until I was old enough to buy my own, which he then let me keep at the farm. Some of my earliest memories of my grandpa are him reading me bull proofs. And you people thought I brain washed my kids. I have nothing on him. In the summer I used to ride in his bouncy, old, red Dodge truck to the local sale barn with him, spending the day following him around. There’s something special about a bond with your grandparents, no matter how old and cantankerous they may be.

My Husband:

Emma's first time deer hunting. I love this picture of them.

Emma’s first time deer hunting. I love this picture of them.

Tom with his mini-me, Taylor. Their similarities are so many it's disgusting some times.

Tom with his mini-me, Taylor. Their similarities are so many it’s disgusting some times.

Tom and the little Henry this spring. I hate to admit it, I'm pretty sure he is his second clone.

Tom and the little Henry this spring. I hate to admit it, I’m pretty sure he is his second clone.

You see if it wasn’t for my husband I probably would be a high school English teacher right now. He pushed me to go to school to do something that would make me happy. My dad and grandfather had the cows and the farm to get me involved in the dairy industry, while my husband (boyfriend at the time) gave me the courage to go to school to do something I loved. Don’t get me wrong, I love reading, writing and tearing a good book apart, but I don’t think I would have felt as happy being a teacher. I don’t regret changing my mind at all.

The best thing about these three amazing men is my children see them on a daily basis. Not only did they influence me but they are now the father, grandfather and great-grandfather to the crazy little tribe. If they had such a positive impact on my involvement and desire to be in the dairy industry, I can’t wait to see what they do for my children. Happy Fathers Day!

** In the month of June if you have any questions about the dairy industry, feel free to leave them in the comments and I will answer them as soon as possible**

3 thoughts on “Fathers Day on the Farm

Leave a Reply

