Buffalo Chicken and Baked Potato Casserole

It’s been a crazy, busy weekend and I promise I will get a blog of some substance up in the next few days. However, I was getting stuff together to make this tasty casserole for supper in the next few nights and thought you may enjoy it as well. It’s a HUGE hit at our house, although I don’t make it often because it is a little time consuming for me. I normally don’t make it when it’s hot out either, your oven has to be screaming hot at first and this old farm house has no air conditioning. I try to avoid turning my kitchen in to a sauna. Easier said than done once it starts to warm up!

Buffalo Chicken and Baked Potato Casserole

Pre heat over to 500 degrees (I’m serious), I’m putting this first, before the ingredients because some peoples ovens may take a little while to obtain this crazy temperature. I re-read this temp a few times when I first made it to make sure I wasn’t going crazy. But first thing is first, crank her up to 500 degrees.

  • 8-10 Medium Potatoes, I like to use red and leave the peels on, but any potato will do the job
  • 1/3 Cup Olive Oil
  • 1 1/2 Teaspoons of Salt
  • 1 Tablespoon Black Pepper
  • 1 Tablespoon of Paprika
  • 2 Tablespoons of Garlic Powder
  • 6 Tablespoons of Hot Sauce, we are not a spicy family and I have never used this much. I go with 3 for a nice medium heat

In a large bowl, big enough for all the potatoes, mix together olive oil, salt, pepper, paprika, garlic powder and hot sauce. Cube potatoes (apprx 1/2 inch cubes) and add them to the mix. Stir to coat. Place potatoes in a greased 9×13 pan. It is best to remove potatoes with a slotted spoon to leave the liquid mixture behind. The end goal is crispy potatoes, to much of the oil mix in the pan makes soggy potatoes. Do NOT dump the oil mixture out.ย Bake in your insanely hot 500 degree oven for 45-50 minutes, stirring every 10 minutes. Hey, I said this was kind of a pain in the butt recipe, but it’s worth it.

Now while your tending tirelessly to your potatoes, sweating in your old, hot kitchen you need to bust out the chicken part of this recipe.

  • 2 Pounds of Boneless, Skinless Chicken Breasts, you could also easily use boneless, skinless thighs

Cube chicken in to 1/2 inch cubes, comparable in size to the potatoes. Marinate the chicken in the left over oil mixture while your potatoes bake. Once potatoes are done cooking, remove the pan from the oven, carefully. Remove chicken from the oil mixture with slotted spoon and add to the potatoes. Turn your poor oven down to 400 degrees. Mix chicken and potatoes together. Put back in the oven for 10 minutes.

Topping (or layer of delicious, gooeyness)

  • 2 Cups of Fiesta Blend or Cheddar Cheese, whatever suits your fancy
  • 1 Cup of Crumbled Bacon, don’t skimp and use bacon bits, use the real deal
  • 1 Cup of Diced Green Onions

Mix this all together. When your chicken’s 10 minutes are up, remove pan from oven and top with this mix of goodies. Return to the oven for an additional 10 minutes until the cheese is melted in to a gooey mess of goodness.

When your approximately hour and fifteen minutes of cooking is completed, I serve this with a side of ranch dressing or someone has suggested more hot sauce. They must live more on the edge than I do. You may also serve with a beer or other adult beverage, let’s face it, this recipe is a lot of work!

So I apologize for the length of cook time and the heat of the oven, but I promise you will not be disappointed in the final results. I will hopefully have a new blog post up in the next day or two and maybe my next recipe won’t contain chicken? Until then, enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Buffalo Chicken and Baked Potato Casserole

  1. Pingback: MORE Farmer Approved Field Recipes - Rural HousewivesRural Housewives

Leave a Reply

