Chocolate Pudding!

We have a favorite go-to dessert recipe in our house. Homemade pudding is delicious if you’ve never had it. Not much harder to make than opening a snack pack lid, taste better and for less money you get a whole big pot of it! At our house we have the advantage of using milk fresh from the cow and eggs out the nesting boxes that morning (thank you Emma). I promise store bought yields just as tasty results!

Homemade Pudding (this was my grandma Sally’s recipe)

  • 2 Cups of Milk
  • 2/3 Cup of Sugar
  • 2 “heaping” Tablespoons of Cornstarch
  • pinch of Salt
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2-4 Tablespoons Cocoa (if you want chocolate pudding, use cocoa to how intense you want your chocolate, if you want vanilla pudding omit)
  • 1 egg

Pour milk in to a heavy bottomed pan. I use my small dutch oven. In a bowl mix the remaining ingredients. I mix my eggs with the sugar mixture to prevent the need of careful tempering. No one wants scrambled eggs in their pudding! Once milk is warmed add a small amount, about a half cup, to sugar mixture. This easily gives the eggs a quick little temper. Then pour mixture in to the milk. Stir until thickened.

I told you this wasn’t that hard! Hope you enjoy, we definitely do. I normally double this recipe for the 4 of us. Ok, maybe 5, Henry does enjoy a few bites!

9 thoughts on “Chocolate Pudding!

  1. Jodi..this was fabulous!! I doubled it and saved a little bowl to try before the kids came home and I agree, I probably will never buy it again!!! So easy and delicious. Would you mind if I share you link on my blog with my pictures making it. The link would lead to your page and recipe

  2. Pingback: Homemade Chocolate Pudding | chase n chance ranch

Leave a Reply

