Crazy Busy Easter!

GE

Out of 3 kids I have 1 who is currently photogenic. Thanks Emma! Taylor was scared of the bunny and Henry had no idea what was holding him. Poor Tom was wrangling the mess for a picture!

 

To say these past few days have been busy would be a slight understatement! I feel like I’ve been running around like a chicken with my head cut off. Between church happenings, family Easter gatherings and dyeing Easter eggs, I’m glad Tom and I were able to sneak away for a few hours with no, yes I said no, children. I realize I haven’t blogged in almost a week, so I have a feeling this may be a little long. I apologize.

To start off our Easter festivities we went to church Thursday evening for Maundy Thursday service. This year we did something different and had a carry-in dinner to represent an Agape feast. For those who may not know what “Agape” means:

Question: “What is agape love?”

Answer: The Greek word agape is often translated “love” in the New Testament. How is “agape love” different from other types of love? The essence of agape love is self-sacrifice. Unlike our English word “love,” agape is not used in the Bible to refer to romantic or sexual love. Nor does it refer to close friendship or brotherly love, for which the Greek word philia is used. Nor does agape mean “charity,” a term which the King James translators carried over from the Latin. Agape love is unique and is distinguished by its nature and character.

Read more: http://www.gotquestions.org/agape-love.html#ixzz2zYdqhOH4

Thank you to gotquestions.org for that definition, way better than I could have given! There was a great sense of fellowship thru the evening with the adults socializing and the kids playing together. Great evening of food and fellowship!

Friday I was flat out miserable. I succumb to tree pollen every spring. So far I had been having very little problems this spring, probably because this spring has been more like an extended winter. Well Ohio has decided to thaw and with the thaw came pollen in abundance. I came home from milking in the morning and lived on Claritan, Tylenol and the couch. Now when Mom is sick in this house it either goes great with the tribe trying to take care of me or it’s apocalyptic. Friday was the later of the two. The elder tribesmen took opportunity to be destructive and argumentative, the smallest tribe member decided he had to be the human tick. I often refer to Henry as the human tick. The kid has a slight binge eating problem some days. By the time Tom came home from the barn I was tired and down trodden. I felt, and I have a feeling looked, like I had been hit by a truck. I declared Pizza Hut night! With no naps the kids went to bed early. I did too, fairly certain I didn’t see 8 o’clock.

Saturday was chaotic to say the least! It started with my mother-in-law coming down to watch the tribe so Tom and I could go away for a few child free hours to the Ohio Holstein spring sale. We went with out a trailer, not sure if we wanted to make any purchases. The last 2 sales we have went to with no trailer, we have came home with a cow… One day we will learn! Meet miss Reba!

Waiting to be milked, kind of impatiently.

Waiting to be milked, kind of impatiently.

Reba is a registered Holstein. When register cattle are sold at auction (and privately) several things are looked at. Pedigree, who are mom and dad? Did mom and grandma give very much milk? Did they look nice? Then the animal herself: does she give lots of good, tasty milk? What does she look like? Is she healthy? How old is she? Every farmer and breeder has different things they put more emphasis on then others. While Reba produces good quality milk, she just produced average amounts last year. She recently had a baby last month and has decided to strive a little higher with this calving. For some of you not farming acclimated you may be wondering how much milk does a cow give? Miss Reba is giving about 100 pounds of dairy goodness a day. That’s roughly 12 gallons. We purchased Reba because on top of milking fairly well, she is a pretty lady. There is one ting I enjoying doing in the summer when I can find some down time, that’s taking some of our pretty ladies to local shows and county fairs. Hopefully Reba and some other ladies get to see some shows this year!

After buying Reba, we had to rush home for the big Easter egg hunt at the local community park. That was the big excitement. The top picture on this post is the best I could get with the bunny that day. Taylor was terrified of the large blue bunny. We had this problem with him last year. That and he also detest having his picture taken. Henry isn’t capable of focusing for a planned picture and thankfully little Em is naturally photogenic. In about 2.5 seconds the park went from being covered in candy stuffed plastic Easter eggs to being picked clean. Here’s a few pictures of the tribe doing their egg picking!

GE

Striking a pose.

GE

T grabbing some eggs.

GE

Em prancing around the park.

After the egg hunt the 2 eldest tribe members went with their Gram (my mother-in-law) so the procrastinating Easter bunny could go hopping to town to get stuff for Easter baskets. We brought the human tick with us, figuring he couldn’t talk to tell the others. A few books, movies and some candy and the Easter bunny came hopping back home.

That evening we had an Easter egg dyeing party at my parents. Food, campfire and a few beverages. The kids had a blast coloring eggs, Taylor may have also dyed his hands orange. The kids loved they had all their grandparents there. Tom’s mom lives over an hour away from us, so the kids had a special Easter weekend complete with Pa, Ma-Ma and Gram. Gram also got to get in on some the fun she may miss. Of course I have egg dyeing pictures. I was a bit of a camera nut this weekend 🙂

Tater sporting some nice shades

Tater sporting some nice shades

Emma making some pretty eggs

ckEmma making some pretty eggshe

We stayed up way to late partying with the eggs. While it was all good fun, I was back up a little before 3 AM to feed the human tick before milking. Now we normally start milking at 4 AM, but with Easter I wanted to make sure we had plenty of time to make church. Our church has a nice breakfast Easter morning. If you haven’t caught on, we eat a lot at our church and we have some amazing cooks who go there. It is always an added plus! After we made it home from milking the kids looked for their baskets to see what ol’ Peter Cottontail brought them. All three tribesmen received books, Emma had a Frozen DVD ( I have to say after watching it twenty times I still have not caught on to what all the hype is about), Taylor found a copy of Despicable Me 2 (much cuter). Little Henry didn’t have a basket this year. He received a shiny new Bumbo seat that had a few goodies for him. I wish we would have found these Bumbo chairs a few kids ago. Amazing little seats!

After goodies and candy, off to church we went. We attend a small country church. To walk in and see it full to capacity was quite the sight. And the little kids, so many! We normally have a healthy crop of little ones anymore, but this Sundays was unreal, such a blessing to see!

Church was followed by a few brief minutes of down time as we said bye to Tom’s mom. Then off to milk the lovely ladies again before supper at my parents house. It was an afternoon where if it could break, it did. Holidays seem to go this way on the farm! But upon surviving work we were rewarded with a delicious supper. Pork roast, beef roast, baked potatoes, sweet potatoes, salad, the list goes on and on. No one left hungry!

This morning was rough I’m not going to lie. But the good news is I made it thru milking, chores, a herd check with the vet(I’ll explain later if you don’t know what that is) and I’m now off til Wednesday morning. In that time someone needs to find this house. It appears as though a small tornado has blown thru. Hopefully I didn’t bore you to tears and you had a blessed and happy Holy week and Easter!

 

 

Leave a Reply

